Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This Lentil Cranberry Wrap recipe came to me in a flash just as my yoga teacher Mona Keddy was explaining the dedication of our yoga practice. Somehow, just sitting in the Shri Yoga studio gives me clarity of thought and focus that I don’t seem to achieve elsewhere. Is it a magical place?

I’m still competing to win the big prize in the Lentil Recipe Revelations Challenge (Contest closes March 19, 2012). Consider this my freestyle entry. As usual, I’m feeling lucky. Help me out, Jittery fans!

Healthy Wrap recipe

Lentil Cranberry Wrap Ingredients

Healthy Wrap Reciep

Amounts are not exact. I used 1/3 cup of cranberry sauce, about 1 oz of goat cheese and 1/3 cup of cooked lentils for each wrap. Coat each of the wraps with goat cheese. Spread a line of cranberry sauce down the center, pecans, a line of lentils. Drizzle on 1 teaspoon of olive oil. Top with a mound of arugula. Sprinkle on a little salt and pepper.

Roll the wrap slowly, parallel to the line of cranberry. Wrap tightly in parchment paper to hold the ingredients together. Slice in two right through the paper to divide into sandwich wrap halves. Peel the parchment down slowly as you savour, bite by bite.

Lentil Cranberry Wrap Printer Ready Recipe

Healthy Wrap Recipe

Final notes:

  • I admit it; I loved watching the Grammys. I’ve become a wholehearted Adele fan.
  • Whitney Houston, may she RIP, was responsible for my marriage; indirectly of course. My friend, Andy Heft, invited me to her Montreal concert in August 1986, and it was that evening he came up with the idea of fixing me up with Marvin, my wonderful husband.
  • Thank you to Jittery Cook fan and important taste tester, Anat Lazar, who came up with the Dijon mustard part of this recipe.
  • Thank you to Kacey Rose Bains, from Epicentre Training, who suggested the roasted pecan addition. It takes a village to raise a Jittery Cook.
  • If you are not crazy about Dijon mustard, try mango chutney instead; as suggested by food savvy Susan Ranger.
  • One good blog knows another. Check out this lentil spinach wrap by The Wooden Spoon.

Healthy Wrap Recipe

